Monday, 16 April 2012

The Bali Blog!



Thanks to AirAsia’s fabulous flight times – I didn’t sleep at all on Friday 30th March! Alan very kindly dropped me to the airport and Brid came along for the spin! We left the hostel at 1am bound for Perth International Airport. On arriving at the airport at about 1.30am I knew it was going to be a long few hours!! The place was dead with very little open – and meant I was probably going to open the stash of chocolate Marie bought me for Easter to keep myself awake!!
Ive decided I could never be a “FIFO”...thats a fly in-fly out person in the mines as I just don’t “do” anti-social hours in the airport! A purchase of a pink travel pillow and lots of chocolate later I was aboard the rather compact flight to Bali. This was my 2nd time travelling overseas alone – but my first time going on holidays with just me, myself and I....I was both nervous and excited at the thought of my own company for 11 days!!
Flight lift at 4.45 (ungodly hour) and I was at my hotel my 9am in Seminyak. A private driver came to pick me up – for some reason I expected Bali to be very modern and touristy (like a Spanish holiday resort) – em no. We drove from Denpasar Airport to Seminyak and I saw the real side to Bali. The place was just bumper to bumper with moped’s and locals carrying their goods on their shoulders while driving to get to markets to make a living (didn’t look the safest mind you). There was such feeling of poverty in the area it was quite sad – but this is rather well hidden in the resorts like Legian and Seminyak.

I spent the morning chilling by the infinity pool in the hotel I was staying at – Favehotel. This is Seminyaks newest hotel and its fab! Everything is pink – from their massive bean bag sun loungers to the wallpaper in the rooms! I know your thinking – backpacker in a brand new hotel??? Go figure! Well Bali is ridiculously cheap compared to Ireland and most definitely compared to Perth. I was about 40AUD a night – which is only a small bit more expensive than a dorm bed in a hostel in Perth!Once I checked into my room I was even more amazed to find I had American Satellite TV on a plasma screen!! Ive been deprived of TV for months now! After dropping the bags off, I walked to Seminyak Beach. I was a bit taken aback by the colour of the sand. Was expecting Fiji like sparkling sand...but no – sand was black!! Someone explained to me that it was volcanic which is pretty cool! I had dinner on the beach (on a massive pink bean bag again!) and watched the sunset. Seminyak is a really trendy spot and the beach was full from end to end with tourists from all over. I think I might just really like it here!




Day 2
I went down for brekkie first thing in the morning – I didn’t really know what Indonesian breakfast consisted of – but didn’t really expect to be eating fried rice and noodles at 8am! But thats how they roll – and I could eat it or go hungry! After my dinner/breakfast I chilled for the day by the pool and debated whether I would do a tour of the island or not. I decided on the “not” option and just lay out all day by the fab pool. Seminyak is also very well known for its shopping and Spa’s in Bali. So after dinner, I booked myself in for a full body massage. Again- with things being so cheap in Bali, a 1 hour body massage was the equivalent of about 10 Euro or AUD. It was bliss! I came out feeling all refreshed and conked out the minute my head hit the pillow!!

Day 3
After another morning of chilling pool-side (it never got old!) – I took a walk to Seminyak Square. Reception advised me to get a taxi or it was a 10 minute walk. I decided on the latter and was very sorry!!! It was about 36 degrees and insane humidity and I was walking through the locals houses practically to find Seminyak Square (thanks google maps!). Seminyak definitely lived up to its name having lovely boutiques – there were some amazing shops and restaurants! And I know that I do better in shops than haggling...you will see why in a later on!

After taxi-ing it back – I made best use of the free wifi and tv for a few hours, this hotel really was a gem! Then got ready for dinner.. I walked down the street where I was staying around 6pm and all these cars beep constantly..which I first thought was super rude! But thats just taxis asking if you want a taxi! Also – I learned early on in the holiday- wear sunglasses day and night..this is so you don’t have to make eye contact with the 500 locals who want you to see what they are selling on their stalls!

I settled on a nice Indonesian restaurant attached to another brand new hotel. The lady asked would I like to sit poolside , and I said why not. I didn’t realise I would practically be in the pool having my dinner! It was a lovely restaurant and the service was amazing. Tipping is not huge in Bali  - but I had read they were on horrendously low wages – so this night I tipped the waitress  50000 rph – this is about 5 AUD.  She couldn’t really understand why I was tipping that much and explained to me that 50000rph is more than a day’s wages for her. This was a little upsetting – but at least I helped in some way

Day 4
Another morning of tannage by the pool and continuing the detox! After this I got a taxi into Legian/ Kuta to do some shopping. Seminyak is the most up market of the three areas – but Kuta did have a Mac donalds!! Its the small things in life when you are subjected to noodle breakfasts every day!!
Kuta and Legian are very westernised areas – with all fast food chains, big hotel names and shops like Rip Curl in them. Kuta is where I tried my hand at haggling...oh jaysis. I wanted a pair of dodgy D&G Sunglasses – and I innocently said – how much are these? He said – how much you buy for? I was like eh I dunno?? After a long awkard silence he said 100000 (so 10 euro) – I was like no thanks. Then I said – how much for 4 pairs? And he said 100000....done deal! So now I have last seasons, this seasons and next seasons Dolce And Gabbana dodgy sunnies before Dolce or Gabbana even know what they look like!

Feeling like I was a haggling pro – I stopped in another few places but just couldn’t bring myself to buy Nik runners ;) Eventually I stopped at a dodgy DVD place- where the sign said buy 10 get 4 free...and this meant 14 dvds for very cheap! Most of the DVD’s are movies that are still in the cinema or just out of it. On purchasing 14  - and realising I don’t have a DVD player with me in Bali – I thought to myself she has probably sold me 14 blank DVD’s! Not a bad days shopping at all!

Day 5

My last day in Seminyak – so I said I would break a bad habit and decided to sunbathe for the day!!  I went back to the beach for another sunset and some dinner before returning back to my lovely hotel room to pack. Only to find a little lizard..when I say little I mean..tiny. But I roared cos I aint a fan. At which point 3 male staff came running to my room expecting to see a scene from CSI. No just a little lizzie!! They kindly got rid of it...but it was right by my suitcase. I couldn’t but think – what if his brother or sister got left behind and was still in my case!! So I carefully unpacked and re-packed everything just to make sure!!

Day 6 – Seminyak to Lemgongan

Up early to leave Seminyak – I had booked a boat transfer to Nusa Lembongan (an island 30 minutes from Bali) so a driver came to pick me up. We drove for about 40 minutes where I got to see the “real bali” again. Lots of hands flailing in the air and total gridlock moments!! We arrived at Sanur Beach – which is far prettier than Seminyak beach! I boarded the Scoot Cruise speedboat along with a couple of locals! 30 minutes later we arrived at Lembongan – wow. We passed “Devil’s Tears” – which is where waves crash against cliffs and cause natural waterfalls to stream down the walls constantly.

                                             Where I got out of the water (nearly had to swim ashore!)

There are no cars allowed on Lembongan, no supermarkets or shops. This was going to be a strange couple of days! I hopped into the back of a make shift convertible hi-ace type van with all my bags!! We arrived at my hotel – Pondok Jengalla, which was pretty to say the least. All the villas face onto the pool and there is a pool bar J But....no TV in my room!! This bothered me initially – but then I remembered where I was – and that there was lots of things to see and do so I got over it fairly lively! Met a lovely Polish couple – Kasia and Michal – we had a lot of laughs before they jetted off to Kuala Lumpar for the next part of their adventure!
Day7 – Lembongan
Decided that I had enough pool time and rented a bike (of the non motorised variety) to discover what Nusa Lembongan had to offer. I set off about 11am...smart right – about the hottest time in the day!! Turns out – Lembongan is rather hilly!! I saw some beautiful temples and the Balinese people are so welcoming showing you around their villaes. It was well worth the traumatic bike ride when I arrived at Sandy Beach and the view of the beach was wow – the waves were massive hitting the shore! I cycled to the very top of a hill and got a fabulous picture of this small island..See pics below! I arrived back dehydrated and shell-shocked to lie by the pool!



I was lucky enough to meet 4 loverly English girls on their holliers (Thanks Lindsay, Helen, Jo and Helvie!) – and my trip to Lembongan turned into a great girly hol! We met two of their friends – Elise and Phil for dinner on the other side of the island (where the posh people stay!).

Day 8 – Snorkelling Safari
We were up at the crack of dawn to go on a snorkelling safari – was a lot of fun! The two places we snorkelled in had so many colourful fish (I really should invest in an underwater camera!). 

Found nemo again! We went to watch the sunset from Scooby Doos Bar – awesome sunset. And another big get together for dinner in Pondok Baruna (amazing food...although some of us got spicier dishes than we wished for). Bali is just so reasonable – for 9 people for dinner and drinks (Bintang!) and desserts – it was about 8 AUD each!


Day 9 – Trip to Mushroom Beach
We lay by the pool in the morning and then got a little Hiace to drop us over to Mushroom Beach – again the other side of the island – where “the other half” holiday! Some amazing resorts to stay in – just maybe a tad out of the backpacker budget! We chilled by the pool bar that evening and then re-visited the same restaurant as evening before (it was that good!)

Day 10 – The girls gallivanted off to Gili T to party and I headed back to the mainland that afternoon. About an 1hour into a VERY choppy journey I was glad to arrive to Sanur beach – little did I know I would nearly be swimming ashore getting off the boat – lesson – don’t have 4 hand luggage items getting off the boat!

I arrived at my 3rd and final hotel of the trip – Baleka Beach Resort..again wow (or so I thought)! I have been so lucky with the hotels I have picked-  one has been nicer than the next! Very chilled evening and purchased some more Balinese souvenirs (dodgy sunnies and bintang vests!)




Day 11 – Holiday Over and last minute drama!!
Last day pool side – checked out of my room, all luggage with me by the pool. Decided to take one last dip in the brand new pool....so I tip tioed over to the pool - and ridiculously UNGRACEFULLY fell down 4 steps into the pool. Foot went black and blue up my leg to my knee. DISASTER!!! I managed to hobble to the airport and hide my mangled foot for fear they wouldnt let me fly Air Asia!! Landed in Perth Airport at 2am and had to be up at 6am for work. Night of Mary!

3 days of work and then the rest of the month off! After 2 days of hobbling - the nurses I work with convinced me my "bruised" leg was actually a "broken" leg. So I was forced to visit ED (casualty) in Perth. Well it was an experience to say the least - felt like Galway A&E!! 3 Nurses, a McDreamy look-a-like and 8 X rays later.... no broken bones! Just a bruised left leg - and a bruised ego that I fell into a pool sober!



So my last weekend in Perth was very tame - had the bestest sleepover in Barbaras house and got to spend time with THE cutest 6 month old going...Baby Hannah.....check her out with her yummy mummy Barbara!


Next stop Melbourne and Sydney before I head back to the Emerald Isle!
Hope you all learned a bit about Bali in the blog and that you all see it for yourselves some time! x

Wednesday, 28 March 2012

Perth City Antics

Hello one and all,

Its been a while - probably about 8 weeks! Lots has been happening - but as I have been in Perth for the last two months I said I wouldnt bore you guys with my daily routine!!

After landing back from the adventure of a lifetime (3 natural disasters in one week and a travel insurance company that now hates me!) - I decided it was time to knuckle down and do some work to get some final funds for the last leg of the trip! We spent a few days hanging around with the West Coast Trip crew before they all jetted off to other parts of Oz or back home...it was sad saying bye to everyone :( But a gang of us headed out for the 1st Six Nations Game! Off to Rosies for Ireland vs Wales! Brilliant night was had - had to be up at the crack of dawn for an interview, not so good!

After about a week on the job hunt (not gonna lie there was also time spent on Perths amazing beaches also!) - I got a job working in HR for a month smack bang in the city centre. So off I pottered to work and first nice surprise - the bank is located in the same building as Rio Tinto. Wink Wink. Lotsa hotties in the mining industry. Really enjoyed my time working with HR - I even got extended for an extra couple of weeks, so I must have done something right!

Whilst in job mode - I said why not get back into gymming it.....wink wink again, SO many people workout after work. A lot of male lookers to oogle over. Sha-wings!! For all you gals wondering where this place is - Murray Street Fitness First!

After my 1st two (tough) days in work...nat...we headed off to Margaret River. This is a place about 3 hours south of Perth and is just filled with winery after winery! Lisa M came over from Sydney and joined myself, Ronan, Leona, Tommy, Emer and Will on a weekend of wine and fun! We set off super early on a Sat morning and visited about 6 (possibly 7!) wineries, it got a bit blurry at the end! Wow...they were amazing. Free wine all around!! We visited a chocoloate factory and a liquer factory to finish off the day! After a lovely dinner in Mgt River, the boys took to the bar to watch some boring footie and us girls went to another Vineyard in the dark. Im sure you are all saying....hmmm...too many vineyards?! But no...we were going to see an outdoor movie (but we did also indulge in wine...when in Margaret River and all that!). The outdoor movie was very american indeed and very enjoyable and different. Definitely not something that could be done at home!

The next day we headed to yet another vineyard for brekkie and hit the beaches in Margaret River while the lads went caving! We hit the road to get back to Perth and our grown up lives (well grown up-ish!) on Sunday evening. We are still living in hostels, there is a huge shortage of rental accommodation in Perth as there is a mining boom at the moment. Most hostels are what are known as "working hostels" where most of the people staying in the hostels are working in the city or on sites. And when I say "most people" - I mean they are 99% Irish aswell! We've made heaps of friends here and feel like we have a Perth family!

Speaking of family - I met up with some family while I was here too! Emily and Rachel (my little sisters) have cousins living out here. So I met up Ronan (the cousin!) and his fiancee for dinner and drinks.. they kindly invited me to their wedding so I will get to experience and Irish Ozzie wedding too!

A week later, I turned another year older (probably not wiser), and we rounded up the troops for a great night out! The gang spoilt me rotten with massive fondue treats, making me dinner, ample amounts of chocolate cake and bubbles! Photos from the night out below!




Week 3 in work - and it was all going really well, my team are so nice. Come Friday evening I was invited to "Boardroom drinks"...very google like indeed! But I wasnt complaining...my boss then thought it would be a nice idea for me to join them on the after work boat cruise (otherwise known as a 4 hour booze cruise).
Rule Number 1 - dont get drunk in front of your boss....well what if its your bosses fault you end up on the other side of tipsy?  It was a fab cruise up to fremantle with copious amounts of corona and a great way to get to know all the work peeps (pity Im leaving :( ). Another Six Nations Game in Rosies - its nearly a tradition now! View from the cruise in the photo below....



Week 4 in Perth and Grown Up Life - More of the same really, more work and less play (decided to take a break from the daily wine consumption this week..it was becoming ridiculous!). We all went out for dinner in Sienas for a family night out during the week, 12 of us I think - all friends from the 1st hostel we stayed in! Marie works in the restaurant, lucky her -the food is yummy and they were really nice to us.
This week we moved to a new hostel ( I use this term lightly - its not new compared to the lovely one we were in, in fact its very old and possibly haunted, but cheaper!). Location is still great and its still only 5 minutes to work! When Alan helped move all our stuff from A to B he reckons no suitcase could be as heavy as mine and Bryony's and that we've possibly cut up ex boyfriends and the likes and are carrying them around with us! Now now Alan....who would do something crazy like that!

Week 4 Weekend - The Woods-Gilmore Wedding
Woke up of a very sunny and super hot Saturday morning and got the glad rags on. Probably not the wisest idea to wear a sight black wooly dress when its near 40 degrees out! The boys kindly agreed to drop me to Caversham House where the wedding was taking place. This place is stunning - everything about it was just perfect - like something out of a fairytale! The bride- Vicki looked just fab and her new hubbie Ronan scrubbed up ok too!! It was an amazing day - made lots of new friends (Barbara and Mike get a special mention ;) ) and  the unlimited bubbly resulted in an almighty hangover the next morning. The photos just speak for themselves here...



Week 5
More work and more play! Really begin to settle into Perth and love life here! Could maybe even see myself living here (Sorry Mammy!) - but of course then everyone could visit. We are stilling living it up in the Britannia Hostel - where Auntie Po follows us around like our mother and us Irish are a major ethnic minority in the kitchen. I shall say no more!
I finished up in HR in the city this week - awhhh....I will miss those guys - yes Suzie I shall! You never know though - our paths may cross again! Great experience of working in the hustle and bustle in Perth that I was very grateful for! Myself and the Gilmores took off to the races - where as usual I lost my shirt! But really fun night was ha!


Week 6
Highlight of this week was visit Rottnest Island. Yes the name aint the nicest - but just 30 minutes from Perth its a very well kept secret! Its an island with white sand and clear blue waters, I know Ive seen a lot of these lately - but its awesome that its so close to the city! Rotto (as its known) has funny looking creatures unique to the island called quokkas - they are like mini kangaroo-esque rodents. Fabulous right. Well I would have taken pictures for ye- but someone (no actually sure who) sat on my camera and the screen smashed one fine night out in Northbridge- and its now a surprise camera cos I cant see the pictures I am taking!! So no quokkas! I did get some snaps on the trusty Iphone though. Thanks Caroline and Phil for putting up with my whinging and dry wit as we cycled around the island for hours!! Lots of fun was had and we finished the day off with a nice glass of Moscato (my new favourite drink!)


Myself and the girls (Marie, Brid, Bryony, Leona and Nicole) had a little BBQ in Kings Park. Very grown up indeed - the facilities in Perth are amazing. Its such a pretty city - I am like a Trip Advisor ad now so I will stop!


Week 7 - Paddies Day!
Although Paddies was the highlight...I was "lucky enough" to land a 2 week temping assignment before I go away again. Mother-a-god. I went from talking all business and dealing with hotties in suits....to screaming down the phone to old people who A) cant hear me as most of them are near deaf or B) cant undertand my "foreign accent". I was working in an aged care office - doing project managementy stuff....very entertaining. They even had the stupidity to put me on reception for a while, well I hung up on more clients than I could count.

2 days of work and I was bloody well delighted it was Paddy's Weekend! The Irish were out in force...lots of proud Irish sporting green white and orange slash gold! We hit Northbridge relatively early in the day -without sounding like we have a drink problem - I can confirm wine was consumed at breakfast time. We stayed in Rosie O Gradys all day and all night - very Irish indeed. Thats all really ;)
This was followed by a Sunday Session in "The Cure" - our local - which didnt let us down either, brilliant Trad Session - sure you couldnt feel homesick.
Only to be followed by a Monday in Work - screaming on the phone again!!!



Week 8
Last week before I jet off on my holidays....we did the usual "out" on a Saturday night. Nearly Died on a Sunday weekend. I said goodbye to my lovely friends Caroline and Philip - who I met on my very first day travelling in New Zealand, when I had never ever stayed in a hostel! Will be seeing them very soon though!

Also - couldnt go without mentioning - this week we had a very momentous occasion....our Brid landed a job in the same hip-happening company I work in, so she gets to shout at old people from an office closer the city. Bitch. Anyway - great day for the Parish when all four of us got up for work in out room!

Packing me bags for travelling to Bali on Friday night - 2 weeks of Sun and Spa's (I mean beauty Spa's :) ).... SJtheTraveller is going solo for the first time - so send out the search parties if I am not back in two weeks!!

One more Blog on Bali....and then guess who is making her way back to the Emerald Isle!

Happy Blogging.....

xxxx

Friday, 3 February 2012

I'm in the Outback....Get me Outttaaaa here!!!!

Day 1 Friday 20th January - Early Start to leave Lorraines lovely house (Thanks Lorraine and the lads for putting me up for my 1st few days!), then I was off to the Barrack Street Jetty to start a 14 day West Coast Adventure. This trip goes from Perth all the way to Broome and back again...5000kms which is like Dublin to Moscow! Anyway - all aboard the "truck" that was to transport us for the two weeks and we quickly started to get to know one another. Ronan has joined me on the west coast adventure too!
1st stop on tour was the Pinnacles..got off the bus to this burst of 45 degree desert heat. Nightmare! If only I knew what was to come after that! The Pinnacles are really cool formations of calcite (I may or may not have made that word up!). Went for a bit of a walk and off again on the road. We stopped at a really nice beach for lunch and then went onto our overnight accomodation in Horrocks. All of our food and accomodation was included...but the downside was that we had to prepare and cook it! Ronan and I were on cooking duty (one would think that would have meant I was off the hook for 2 weeks then...oh no!). No-one really slept cos of the heat - and Lucy informed us all that "wet t-shirts" were to way forward to cool down! Ronan was in his element! Also did I mention there were 13 girls on tour and only 2 lads!




Day 2 - Ryan our tour guide very kindly got us up at 5am for breakfast! Then it was another long day on the road. We arrived at Kilbarrie National Park where we walked to Natures Window (see photos!) - very pretty indeed. We then went on a hike in ridiculously hot weather, which I most definitely did not have the right gear for. My pink runners were definitely a bad idea when nearly everyone else had hiking boots! We hit a very Aussie roadhouse for a BBQ for lunch and then drove a couple more hours to Shell Beach. Name is particularly apt - given that its just a beach covered with shells! We stayed in Denham for the night and had Air-Con Gate 2!!


Day 3 - 6am start today! Off to Monkey Mia - this is a place where you can swim with dolphins and if your very lucky you get to feed them....guess who got picked to feed them! Yep - I sure did!Lovely relaxing morning followed by a 700km drive to Coral Bay! I see a pattern emerging here...super early starts and very long drives with not very much to see but outback!

Day 4 - Staying in Coral Bay - a really nice beach resort with a pool. Flashpacking again! We signed up to a morning snorkelling trip in Coral Bay and off we headed on a glass bottom boat. Note - and I didnt only find this out AFTER the event..but a snorkeller got his arm bitten off my a shark in Coral Bay! The snorkelling was amazing - we did swim with reef sharks in a "shark cleaning station" where little fish clean the sharks teeth and skin. Very cool indeed. There was amazing coral and really cool fish too! Except for the bloody eejit who threw fish food into the water as I got in the water. I nearly lost my life (and by bikini) in the process.
After snorkelling we made our way back to the resort where we met our driver. This is we were about to get news of the 1st natural disaster! Karijini National Park (the reason most of us did the trip) had to be suddently closed due to torrential rain and flooding! We were due to camp there for 3 nights. Which also meant we were homeless for the last few days of the trip! We stayed on in Coral Bay for another night until the tour company could devise another plan for us!

Day 4 - Stranded in Coral Bay! - We went on a guided snorkel in Turquoise Bay. Forgetting the fact that half of us nearly drowned cos our snorkelling gear was faulty, it was actually like swimming in an aquarium - with amazing fish, turtles and sharks! So being stranded in Coral Bay wasnt so bad! Visited the Tropic of Capricorn (a sign really!)




Day 5 to 8! - We drove from Coral Bay two Exmouth. We stopped off at the local "shopping centre" where we heard the locals talking about the cyclone that was coming. So of course we all started panicking and started asking our driver the 21 questions! Cue - the 2nd Natural Disaster coming our way! Cyclone Iggy was fast approaching - the last time a cyclone hit Exmouth it flattened the whole town. So these things arent looked on lightly! We just had to wait and see!
One of the nights in Exmouth - Ryan brought us to a Turtle Beach - January is in the middle of mating season for turtles - so after sunset the huge female turtles drag themselves out of the water onto shore and lay about 100 eggs! Only a very small number survive as they get eaten by crabs and sharks :( We did see two tiny turtles just hatched make their way to the water for the first times. Probably one of the cutest things I have ever witnessed!



Day 3 in Exmouth we found out about the Evacuation Order that was put on all of Exmouth. We decided to ignore it! And we stayed on another night...our tour joined by another Western Xposure trip being the only people on the campsite!!
4.30am - we got a knock on the door to say - get up and get the hell out! So the early mornings were now turning into late nights! We all packed up and had yet another meeting...to tell us that we cant go any further north (so no Broome trip!) due to the cyclone. So we all boarded the bus dismayed and made our way back to Perth

Day 9 - we travelled 700km back down to Carnarvon - the town that everyone was being evactuated too. The place was jammers - and for this reason we got put up in the fawlty towers of hostels! 45 degrees and no air-con - well it was like a flipping refugee camp! We were stuck in Carnarvon due to the Bushfires down south (yes that would be the 3 natural disasters in just over a week!). My insurance company are going to just love me!

We got woken at 5am to see if the road would re-open so we could return to Perth..no joy..hourly checks were in place until 8am...at which point we were rushed onto the bus and took off! We spend from 8am until midnight on the bus....fun times! So lots of times to say goodbye to all the crew on the trip! Although the itinerary didnt go to plan - I made some fantastic friends who I will no doubt stay in touch with...so a big thanks to...Lina, Lucy, Kathrin, Kay, Celine, Elene, Ilana, Maike, Floriane, Diane, Claudia, Lukaz, Ronan and Ryan! No dramas!!!



Im in Perth Now - on the lookout for some work (will be a foreign feeling after Fiji and WA!)...over half way through my travels so you guys will be seeing me soon at home!
SJ xxx

Wednesday, 18 January 2012

Bula from Fiji!

Bula everyone all the way from Fiji! Myself, Lisa and Nikki have been having a ball in Fiji for the
last two weeks since you heard from me last! See below for a synopsis of our "Tropical Awegasm" adventure around 6 Fijian Islands!!

Tuesday 3rd January - Arrived in Fiji in the afternoon - after a 4 hour flight we stepped out into a very very humid airport! Serious Monica hair going on!! We stayed on the mainland - Nadi for the night. Really nice little resort..but there were frogs everywhere. The frogs, lizards, spiders dont seem to bother the girls. This is where we are gonna have an issue. I am petrified of all things wild on the islands!! It was about 32 degrees at 9pm - insanely hot! Went for a yummy dinner and tasted Fiji Babies for the first time (beer not children!).
Early night as we started our 12 day tour the next day (aptly named the Tropical Awegasm!)



1st Island - Bounty Island
Wednesday 4th January - All aboard the Cheetah boat to our first island - Bounty Island (Celebrity Love Island!). These boats are fine - it was the getting off the large boat and getting on what could only be descbribed as a curach (super small Irish wooden boat!!) - this is where we had issues with my luggage! I just have far too much stuff. End of! Anyway- Bounty is super cute. Water so clear and really warm, islanders so friendly and everything was just lovely!

Lisa and I are staying in Burés (beach-houses) for the trip and Nikki stays with us for sleepovers instead of the dorms (unless she finds herself a prince charming on another island of course!). Poolside all day and started the holiday off with ice cream cocktails - yummy!! Island has teeny tiny turtles that we went to visit too. Would highly recommend people to visit Bounty if you go to Fiji!
Also Mammy - member I always wanted a princess bed with curtains when I was a kid...check out the photo!!....



Thursday 5th January - After brekkie we went to Mana Island to catch the Seaspray for a day sailing! Well it p1ssed down rain ALL morning...awkward enough start to the day - we were just looking at one another as we got saturated on the boat! Then it stopped after a small prayer to Baby J! Free Booze all day (even bubbles!)...of course we drank sensibly! We snorkelled into the island where Castaway was filmed and got a bit of tannage! Lunch was served on the boat and then we went to visit a Fijian Village. We had an initiation ceremony and tried the local drink - Cava. Not a thing like the cava I am a fan of!! This is non alcoholic - its from a tree root and water is added to it. It makes your mouth numb after drinking it - and apparently can cause all your muscles to go numb if you drink enough of it! Met some adorable fijian smallies - everyone in Fiji is so friendly and welcoming.




Waiya Lailai Island
Friday 6th January - We left Bounty and headed for Waiya Lailai. If we only knew what lay ahead we may have fast forwarded two days!! 2 hours on very rough seas we landed in Waiya Lailai Eco Resort. Very pretty Island, but no Bounty! Lunch was cold pizza with ketchup as a topping. Anyone that knows me well enough - I have a fear of ketchup! So not off to the best start! After lunch we packed our bags for the beach - lotion on, books out, towels down. Just as Lisa sat down - heavens opened. In a big way!!! It rained and rained and didnt know how to stop! Well we did decide to visit Fiji in the wet season and cyclone season!

Saturday 7th January - I am not able for Waiya Lailai!! Hasnt stopped raining since lunchtime yesterday! Had to miss brekkie as I didnt have my arm-bands to swim to the restaurant!! Lisa, Nikki and Myself were getting slight cabin fever to say the least! Fan in the room is a luxury as its still ridiculously hot on the Island. Just when we think it cant get much worse...the turn off the electricity during the day to save on the leccy! So we were stuck in a sauna style buré for the afternoon! Nikki, Myself and two of our friends Paul and Angelica decided to go snorkelling in the rain...which was fun. The water is so warm in Fiji and we couldnt feel the rain! Snorkelled out as far as caves where sharks live - this is where I made a swift about turn to shore! 7 hours later the rain stopped!! We took a stroll across the island to mingle with the locals and checked out the "non-local talent" ;). Food got worse and worse - Im like the face for Weight watchers in Fiji!! Too much info right?! We are on the Yasawas now (group of islands) - where a hot shower is not a possibility. So Icey showers all round! We had a couple of drinks with our fellow travellers and then went to pack up for our 3rd Island!



Korovua Island
Sunday 8th January - Packed up to leaved Waiya Lailai (and the sun was out Jeez!) - decided against brekkie for my health and safety! Next stop was a boat trip to Korovua. This was about 2 hours north again. Very pretty Island indeed (this is a "3 coconuts" island - so like a 3 star hotel!). Arrived to such a warm welcome, with fresh fruit juice to rehydrate us! Staff are so lovely - brought our bags to the buré. Very lazy day by the pool - weather was very nice indeed! Another few drinks were had that night with our new friends - we are all taking it easy in anticipation for Beachcomber which is the party island!
I found a miniature gecko in our room - Ive named her Lizzy. Im not a fan of geckos at all. She stays upside down on the ceiling. So as long as shes up there and im on the ground we'll all be ok!

Monday 9th January - Another day lazing about Korovua Eco Resort, this island has the most beautiful sunset. Food not for the faint hearted (had a few bridesmaids moments!...this will only make sense for those who have seen bridesmaids the movie!). The Bula Boys put on a show for us after dinner on the decking..like a free Chippendales show Fijian style! I got "dragged" out onto the dancefloor for Audience Participation! Made some more friends on Korovua...girls and couples! All my single guy friends out there - get yer backsides over to Fiji...its all Single girls (good)and couples (not so good for ye!!)





Coral View Resort
Tuesday 10th January - Tannage by the pool in the morning waiting for the big boat to pick us up - one big boat leaves from the mainland everyday and picks up and drops off to each of the tiny islands. Most islands have only one resort - it takes the boat about 10 hours round trip to hit all the islands! We made it to Coral View in about 1.5 hours from Korovua. Looked amazing from the get-go...its in the Blue Lagoon Region.
Huge team working there - and all so so lovely. Food super and cocktails even better. First island we met single boys too! Met Jake from England - he gets a special mention cos guess wha - well he thinks Im funny (news to me!) and said he wants SJP's....Sarah Jaynes Podcasts...well the blog will have to do for now! Happy Birthday to you Jake aswell!

Wednesday 11th January - Off to do a Cave Trip first thing after brekkie. These are the caves that Brooke Shields was in for the movie Blue Lagoon...Lisa and I made it to the first cave, Nikki the daredevil she is ventured into the second cave. This involved swimming into a dark hole into a pitch black cave with eels and snappers. So not me. Nikki comes back out after a few minutes and roars - SJ that is SO not you!!
We snorkelled in the Blue Lagoon Region and then headed back to our resort. The girls were super active in the afternoon whereas I got well acquainted with a sunbed and hammock! The went jet skiing around the island and Nikki went tubing too. Jeez I feel a tad boring now - but I was getting my tan on ;)
After dinner we were invited to partake in Fijian dancing games - think back to when you were like 10 in a mini-disco...it was a lot of fun though! And we made loads of friends...who then invited us to play drinking games which resulted in us having our best night in Fiji yet!

Mantay Ray Resort
Thursday 12th January
After brekkie we hung out with all of the employees from the resort, I cannot emphasise how lovely these people are. From the waitresses to the ice-cream parlour people (yes Lisa...how lovely was Carter...dunnno how Mammy Maher would feel if you landed home to Offaly with a Fijian though!). If any of you visit Fiji - you should definitely take in the Coral View Resort.
In the afternoon we got onto our little boat to bring us to the big boat to Mantay Ray Resort! Just spending one night here.
Arrived safely in Manta Ray - we had heard amazing reports about Manta Ray and it didnt let us down! Snorkelling, activities and accomodation was all very lovely indeed!

Friday 13th January
The date thats in it - one wouldnt think "lets do my 1st scuba dive" - but thats exactly what Nikki felt she needed to do! And didnt regret it at all - she had a ball. The afternoon consisted of the usual - lunch (food here is an awful lot better than other resorts!) and tannage! Then we made our way in the evening to Beachcomber....party island in Fiji! Arrived in Beachcomber in time for dinner - wise do get soakage in before the night that was ahead! We made best use of our Duty Free Vodders before hitting the beachside bar....frozen cocktails it was. Pink ones no less. Which resulted in the usual embarassing photos and dancing...Macarena etc! Where most of the islands in Fiji are very laid back - Beachcomber most definitely lives up to its party name.


Saturday 14th January
Attempted to get up out of bed 3 times, failed on all accounts. I want to blame the pink cocktails - but it may well have been the pre-drinking that killed me! Picked myself up though and hit the beach where the girls had been lying for ages! Very slow day was had - no sudden movements or loud noises allowed. Probably my most fragile day yet!

Sunday 15th January
Last Day on the islands :( ...spent the day chilling out with our friends as we were all going our separate ways after the islands. We headed back to the mainland - Nadi, and stayed in the Nadi Bay Resort again. Last night with Nikki before she returned to Ireland :( and also Lisa who goes back to Sydney where she lives! We had a farewell dinner and fiji baby drink to toast our amazing holiday! Here is to Fiji take 2!

Monday 16th January
Girls left for the airport at 5.30am and left me all on my tobler :( ....Sat poolside for a few hours thinking of how lovely Fiji was and how welcoming the Fijians have been! Made my way to the airport at 1 - I am flying to Brisbane - then Perth to start another 2 week trip on the 20th January....the fun continues!
Thats all from Fiji....Bula!!
xx

Tuesday, 3 January 2012

Happy New Year Y'all!

Hola all - hope you all had a fabulous Christmas and New Years wherever you were in the world!!
Here is a brief summary of our travelling stories from Christmas Eve on!

Dec 24th Christmas Eve! - Myself and Anne-Marie (yes Jonesie a personal mention!) hit St. Kilda beach to get some Christmas eve rays...very surreal to be listening to Christmas Tunes on the beach but not complaining all the same! A couple of hours later we hit La Roche for lunch (a lovely eatery near us fulla Oirish people ;) )
As per usual I let the side down when we were walking in and the particularly good looking waiter said to me "Where would you like to sit" - no one else in the group heard what he said...I looked around and said
"Up against the wall would be nice thanks!)"....at which point all the girls burst out laughing and the poor waiter went red with mortification. Oh well! We got the glad rags on later and hit PJ O Briens for a few Irish Coffees before Mass. (Note Mammy - I went to mass). You couldnt feel homesick in there - the place was crawling with Irish people and their families over visiting for the festive season. Organised Monica had our Mass Itinerary set out. Cathedral at 11. I thought it strange that Midnight Mass was at 11 - but went along with it! Course we landed in late - but managed to fit in 40 minutes of the vigil service (reminded me of Home Alone....tom tom song choir!) and then 12 mass. So Mammy - I made two masses for Christmas - are you proud out?! We had a faller at the last fence - that may or may not have fallen asleep just before communion but it was a long day! Off home and all ready for Santa!

December 25th - Christmas Day....my 1st ever Christmas away from home and from my family. But Anne-Marie, Marie, Monica, Leona and Marian more than made up for it! We had a fav day! We did secret santa - but everyone got pressies for everyone...so we kinda cheated. I got a LOT of pink stuff. What can I say- then know me better than I know myself! Well Chuffed. Turkey on - all the trimmings be prepped. We had our big Christmas dinner in the hottest of conditions. Amazing though. Just after dinner the heavens opened, thunderstorms and hailstones the size of golf balls! So what better time than to hit the bunks for an after dinner nap! This was followed by eating everything in sight and having more than a few sociables. Just like home! Great day for my first Christmas Down Under!

December 26th - St Stephens Day. A big tradition in Melbourne is to hit the Cricket in the MCG (Melbourne Cricket Ground) on Boxing Day. And following that tradition we did just that - filling the Ice Box with yummy food and smuggled in alcohol. We did what I was advised by the locals .... got our hands on syringes (from a un-named pair that we live with who happen to have them in their workplace!)..and syringed fruit with alcohol. A lot of preparation and fun - and made the fruit very interesting! I learned a rule or two about cricket (and thats a rule or two more than I ever knew!) and we had a savage day! Followed by an even better last night in Melbourne with all the girls from our apartment and Kieran and Noelle!

December 27th - Sore heads all round - I hit the Sea Baths and Gym for my last wash as its now known! Then we had our last dinner with the girls and we packed up all our stuff ( I have an insane amount of luggage at this point..sorry Jetstar!) and we headed for the airport! Anne-Marie, Marie and Myself all flew to Sydney for New Years...we were sad leaving girls behind, but little did we know two of them surprised us and joined us two days later!! We arrived a Lisas apartment in Sydney - where she was the hostess with the mostess! I got to sleep in a double bed. Just thought that should get a mention - cos thats a serious luxury for me - where bunks are the norm now!

December 28th - Beach Day! We hit Coogee Beach, wowee. Sydney has amazing beaches. Fabulous day soaking up the rays and getting over the Christmas partying! Took it very easy in Sydney that night and we just hit the cinema. We went to "We bought a zoo" - super cute movie, may have cried! Also got my present from my Mammy - lots of lovely photos, a kilo of Galaxy Chocolate and Cool Water Perfume.....she knows me too well!!

December 29th - Bridget arrives! Anne-Maries Sister arrived to join in the New Years Celebrations all the way from Scarriff City in Clare! we had a seriously touristy day, we took in the Harbour Bridge, Darling Harbour and the Opera House as well as a few other places. Sydney is a really cool city - You could never get bored in that city - so much to see and do! Apparently Thursdays are a big night in the "cock and bull" pub in Bondi Junction, so we decided we couldnt be rude and we should go along with our lovely new flatmates! Cock and Bull - directly comaparable to Coppers any night of the week. They probably would have accepted my coppers card ;) I have never,ever seen so many GAA jerseys in one place outside of croker. Insane altogether. Great night though - and again couldnt in any way feel homesick!






December 30th - Nikki arrives! Nikki has come over to visit me for a few weeks - just in time for NYE celebrations! We hit Bondi Beach during the day to check out the Bondi Rescue crew (meant nothing to me!) but I knew girls would enjoy it. Nikki arrived in really late and we had a super early night again - suffering
from previous night and also prepping for the big night to come!

December 31st -  New Years Eve! Met Nikki early and myself, Anne-Marie and Bridget went picnic shopping. Bought enough food to feed an army and 20 litres of goon. That would be 20 litres of wine that comes in a box and worked out at 2 dolla a litre!! Nice too! Monica and Marian joined us from Melbourne and scoped us out an amazing elevated park overlooking the harbour bridge. We got to the park at about 3pm and cracked open the goon (that comes in a tin foil bag -with a tap....very clever invention!). 9 hours later we were all very happy to be in Sydney. Marian nearly took a child out when she fell  on top of a tent. Child was fine tho ;) We rang in the New Year watching the fireworks on the Sydney Harbour Bridge. It was a fabulous way to start 2012!



January 1st 2012....Up at 9am...all off to Cock and Bull to ring in the Irish New Year. No joke...I could hardly stomach a drink, and most definitely couldnt face 2 dolla wine. But we had a toast to all our lovely friends and family at home at 11am our time - which was midnight for you lot at home!
we hit Bondi then - where Nikki "gracefully" (not gracefully at all) stalked the Bondi Rescue crew for the whole day. Keep an eye out for the New Years Bondi Rescue special - which I think I might be on. And yes I may have been holding in my stomach to the point that I nearly fainted! But jaysis its hard work standing
next to bronzed, toned ozzies!

January 2nd 2012 - We had a farewell picnic in the botanic gardens with Monica and Marian followed by a trip to Manly. Manly is a beach town outside Syndey (very hamptons-esque for all you ex J1-ers). Really pretty place and the more I see of Sydney the more I like it! Lovely way to spend our last day in Sydney!





January 3rd - Lisa, Nikki and Myself set off to Fiji for two weeks! We flew Air Pacific which is Fiji's International Airline, I convinced myself the crew were on happy pills. They were so nice...but no - alas - every single Fijian we have met today have just been so so lovely. We have just arrived in Nadi, which is the big island and are staying here the night.
We are off on a 12 day trip around 6 Fijian Islands. The wheelie is in big big trouble. I have to wheel it through sand, then into water and onto a boat. The boats dont dock - they just kinda wait for you and you paddle out. Oh my lord. I shall let you all know how that goes!!

I wont have internet coverage nor phone coverage -so wish me luck and hope you enjoyed the NY BLOG!!!

Lots of Love from the happiest of places (Fiji!),
Sarah-Jayne x